Rotary Year 1980 — 1981

District 690 GovernorWilson Camp
Rotary PresidentRolf J. Klarich
Home CountryFinland
ThemeTake Time to Serve
Convention LocationSao Paulo, Brazil

Wilson inherited a problem that had been increasing in the district for several years. It had been apparent to the men serving as Governor for the two Districts in Georgia that both districts were too large, both in number of clubs and in geographic territory. The large area to be covered, stretching from the Tennessee border to the Florida line made it difficult to have efficient administration. In their respective Spring Conferences both District 690 and District 692 passed resolutions calling for the formation of a joint committee to be charged with the responsibility of finding an equitable plan for dividing the state into three Rotary Districts.

The committee from District 690 was made up of DG Wilson Camp, DGN Thomas L. Cooper, DGN-Elect Steve Andre, PDG Jim Brim and Ron Waller. The committee from District 692 was made up of DG Walter Martin, DGN Lamar Branch, PDG William Hudson, Dr. Louis C. Alderman, and John M. Crichton. The committee agreed to have a plan ready for the beginning of the Rotary Year, July 1, 1982. During his year Wilson presented charters to a new club at Fayetteville, sponsored by Peachtree City, and a new club at Peachtree Comers.